Mandatory Air Tightness Testing – Ohio, USA & Burnaby, Canada

Two states in two countries have bought in legislation of a mandatory air tightness test before handover can take place.

  • Ohio, USA – From 1st July 2019, all homes will require a blower door test at final for code compliance. Ohio is not the first state to require mandatory blower door tests.
    • In 2012, Illinois mandatory testing started to take place regardless of the path chosen for compliance. Maryland, Massachusetts, Georgia, Florida and also New York State also have mandatory air tightness testing.
  • Burnaby, Canada – From 1st September 2019, those building Part 9 homes will be required to comply with Step 1 of the BC Energy Step Code. This means single-family homes, duplexes and multi-unit building with a footprint of less than 600 square meters (6,458 square feet) will need to be tested.
    • Step 1 only required for structures to perform equal or better than home built to the existing BC Building Code Standards. However, Burnaby then plans to jump to Step 3 of the code in “approximately one year”.

This list will keep be updated when more states and countries introduce mandatory air tightness testing.

Click here to view all our members in the United Kingdom, Europe, United Arab Emirates, Australia and New Zealand.